Conditional Formatting Issue (1 Viewer)

Lochwood

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 19:08
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
113
I have an issue with conditional formatting. This is a simple rule when the field is populated with a number upto 100, it has a green bar that goes up based on the value. works fine when i open the continuous form but if i then use any filter buttons, the conditional formatting doesn't work. this also happens to me with other single forms in other databases. Is this a bug in Access 2016?
 

Ranman256

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:08
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
3,695
my filtering retains the formatting.
Not sure what your 'green bar goes up' means.
 

HalloweenWeed

Member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:08
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
106
my filtering retains the formatting.
Not sure what your 'green bar goes up' means.
I think he means the "compare to other records" option in conditional formatting. Personally I've never used this feature, but other conditional formatting (background color) works fine for me with sorting & filtering.
CondFormatCompareBar.jpg

I am unsure how this would react when values are filtered, with the "longest bar" and "shortest bar," I wonder: is the entire recordset considered upon filtering, or just the filtered records (lowest/highest of the filtered records)? There is similar options for "percent" and "number." Anyway, I have no other help.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:08
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
13,731
Hi. I just tried it using 2016, and the CF bars worked fine even when I apply a filter to the continuous form.

PS. The CF (bar length) seems to consider the Form's entire recordset, not just the filtered ones.
 

Lochwood

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 19:08
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
113
yeh can see this working.. for some reason when i choose a filter or reset it back to original query i lose the conditional formatting. i f i use a solid colour and not the bar its fine. must be something to do with how it compares the record set. i will default to a solid bar. this works.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:08
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
13,731
yeh can see this working.. for some reason when i choose a filter or reset it back to original query i lose the conditional formatting. i f i use a solid colour and not the bar its fine. must be something to do with how it compares the record set. i will default to a solid bar. this works.
Hi. Sorry to hear that. Good luck with your project.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom