Data type mismatch in criteria expression (1 Viewer)

SamG

Local time
Today, 07:03
Hi all,
I am still an Access newbie and was told to figure out why this database is not working. When I figure out one issue another one pops up. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated! One query in this macro keeps giving me the "data type mismatch in criteria expression" error. The expression seems simple enough - it's subtracting one variable from another. Both of these variables are short text (4 H, 5 L, etc) and the new variable being created is numeric. I have looked back at previous versions of this query and it looks like it worked fine. But with each passing year, changes are made to the data so changes need to be made to the database. Please help!
TIA!

1678373474363.png

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:03
Maybe check if any of the data is Null. I think Val(Null) might produce an error (just not sure if it will be type mismatch or invalid use of null though). Just a thought...

SamG

Local time
Maybe check if any of the data is Null. I think Val(Null) might produce an error (just not sure if it will be type mismatch or invalid use of null though). Just a thought...
there is an entry for each variable but thank you!

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Wow, not only did they throw you in without a life preserver but they threw you in a cesspool. From just those two query fields I can tell this is a poor database. Although I am sure you are powerless to change this here's all the red flags I see:

1. You don't store calculated values. [OLD/NEW DIFF] should not be a field in a table. If you ever need the difference between two values, you calculate them when needed, you don't calculate them once and store them. Suppose [New Size] or [Size] changes, then that would mean the value of the calculation changes. But you've already stored the initial calculation value in the field and are using it.