Duplicating data (normalisation?) (1 Viewer)

David8

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:13
As a beginner I am not as familiar as most here with normalisation.

Consider a Buildings table lending a foreign key to a Rooms table that in turn lends a room foreign key to an Equipment table. Building>Room>Equipment.

I imagine that re-recording the 'building' characteristic in a seperate field on the equipment table violates normalisation, because the building data automatically follows from the room specificied for each item of equipment via the relationships. If this is a normalisation issue, then which aspect is violated?

Would this (re-recording the building data against each item of equipment)ever be considered acceptable?

For example I want a datasheet view form to show the field building as well as room and to allow the entry of building data to narrow down a subsequent room combo box. I cannot use an unbound building field otherwise the building field will not display correctly in datasheet view.

I suppose I could have a single two column location form field that showed both building and room, but this does not achieve the cascade combo box effect I want. Really I only want the Equipment table to record RoomFK for location data. This is all the location data that is needed (from the equipment table perspective), but seems to make it impossible for me to design a datasheet view form that does what I want.

Last edited:

dportas

Registered User.
Local time
I imagine that re-recording the 'building' characteristic in a seperate field on the equipment table violates normalisation, because the building data automatically follows from the room specificied for each item of equipment via the relationships. If this is a normalisation issue, then which aspect is violated?

Sounds like a non-key dependency to me (room->building) which would violate Boyce Codd Normal Form.