Food Miles etc (1 Viewer)

mamandeno

Dabbler in Access
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:37
I would be really interested to gauge peoples interest/views on this topic.

Food miles is a concept currently being batted around to try and represent the amount of transport that goes into a food product to get it into. The idea is that this approximates the carbon burnt and therefore global warming etc etc.

I work in the food exporting industry in New Zealand, which is a long way from the UK and some of our customers there starting to discuss this issue with us.

The idea is that consumers will start avoiding food with hkigh food miles as they care about the planet. This would be bad for countries like NZ that export food long distances.

The counter argument to food miles is that it does not capture the total carbon footprint and transport may be only a small part of the total carbon used to make .

How do people feed about the concept of something like food miles?

Would it change you shopping behaviour?

Would you accept lower quality or pay more for something with less food miles (or less carbon burn)?

Interested to read peoples thoughts.

R

Rich

The idea is that consumers will start avoiding food with hkigh food miles as they care about the planet. This would be bad for countries like NZ that export food long distances.

Until they realise how much it costs their pocket:rolleyes:
For all of Saint Bliar's and European's posturing the UK's contribution to global warming is just 2%. The US which under Bush frankly doesn't give a damn's contribution is 25%. The dream that Bliar and his cronies are following is just that. Take the latest directive from the EU, it's going to ban the sale of ordinary light bulbs to save the planet:rolleyes:

FoFa

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:37
Oh Rich, there you go AGAIN. Comparing a fly speck (UK) to a table (US). :eek: