Front end of 2007 database on a Tablet (1 Viewer)

rowzone

Local time
Today, 01:21
Hi
I am a self taught access designer and have been designing databases for a number of years now as a sideline, but I am new to this forum. I am currently running 2007, but does it has the functionality to create Web Forms or is this just 2010. I currently run quite a complicated database with a lot of forms/subforms and more nested subforms with linked tables into a back end database for my own company. As an outdoor activity company I am looking for this to be accessible from a tablet when outside, but want to know which would be the best option, getting a windows version that would be able to run the MS Access front end with sharepoint lists, or to get a good Android tablet and create a web version of the front end?

Any advice much appreciated.
Rowena :)

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 20:21
How much time and money do you want to spend? Access REQUIRES SharePoint if you want to create a web app. More importantly, if you have an existing app, there is no way to convert it. You must start from scratch to create a completely new application and you cannot use VBA at all. Everything MUST be done with macros so make sure that you can replicate the functionality you need with the macros before you embark on this course. You will of course be able to convert the data.

The simplest solution to web conectivity is to use something like PCAnywhere/Terminal Services/Citrix to remotely access your desktop from a web browser. That way as long as those products have versions that can run on Android or Mac OS, you are good to go.