Help Formatting Addresses in a Text Field within a table (1 Viewer)

Fanflame

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:29
Hi there,

I have been using Access for several years but always in a basic way. I have started work on an existing Members database where the Members Addresses have been pasted in from Notepad or been imported from csv or manual entry.

The ones that have been manually entered are on one line. The ones that are imported from csv or pasted from Notepad are on multiple lines like you would naturally type on an envelope...

In Notepad they look like this:

'Oakdale' 123 Expression Road
Name of Town
Name of County
Postcode

Sometimes the addresses have 4 lines and sometime they also have the name of a village which makes it 5 or 6 lines. When imported into Access they also view (datasheet view) in the same way with the return at the end of each line. However, I cannot enter a new address in this manner directly into Access.

How can I enter the address text into a text filed and be able to format it so that it looks like the above? :confused:

I have searched many times for an answer to this but cannot find a way of explaining it that search engines understand. I first came across this 12 years ago when I worked on a massive Members database for a radio station all the addresses where formatted in the same way and had been imported through csv. When I do this the csv file marks up the text as "'Oakdale' 123 Expression Road□Name of Town□Name of County□Postcode"

I have tried exporting to csv ad then importing it into GMAIL and this works fine I have also printed off labels and envelopes and all the addresses print fine too; I just don't know how to input it in that format other than pasting all addresses through a basic text file.

Many thanks for your help and practical suggestions.

At present I am still using Access 2003 - I have got 2007 but didn't really like it so switch back and stayed there!

fanflame

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member