Solved How to add custom properties to a subform (1 Viewer)

Startup

Local time
Today, 17:37
I ve been working with VBA for a few weeks, so I'm a newbie and my english isnt good. Sorry for that and hope you understand my issue.

Is it possible to add custom propertys by VBA to a subform? Specifically, I want to save the changes of the user. For example the size of the subform (customX, customY, customWidth, customHeight). Its should work only at runtime. It should only work at runtime.

It might look like this:

Private Sub Form_Load()
frmMySubform.addNewProp paramName ' create a new property
End Sub

Private Sub Form_Resize()
frmMySubform.paramName = frmMySubform.width ' write to the new property
End Sub

Thank you in advance

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:37
Short answer is no, you cannot add new properties to access controls. Usual method would be to store the custom values in a user table or similar and apply on form open (and save on form close or other event). If there are only a few you could create new properties in the db itself or perhaps the main form object (I've never tried the latter)

But I don't really understand the actual requirement so there may be an alternative to achieve what you want. I understand the user environment is runtime but what is the purpose of these custom properties? If it is just to do with resizing based on user screensize or user manual resizing of the main form, investigate the insidewidth and insideheight properties, or there are the anchoring properties of the control

ebs17

Local time
An Access form is a class. New properties can only be inserted in design mode.
A normally open form is "only" an instance of the class and can only access existing properties.

Design changes at runtime should be strictly avoided. If you pass on your application as an ACCDE, such design changes are no longer possible anyway.

So create your properties once in the draft in the VBA project of the form.
Code: