I'm too stupid to work this out (1 Viewer)

bbthedog

Local time
Today, 17:14
Hello Access Gurus,

I'm quite new to Access, but have nevertheless successfully built a database for a small language school which allows them to track students' details, exam performance, payment records, etc. They asked for a number of reports, all of which were quite easy to create, including one which gives them a list of which students have paid what amounts between a certain date range. The one that's stumping me is that they also a report which shows students who haven't made a payment between a date range. The issue is that the query correctly finds students without a payment within the range, but also returns those who paid on any other date outside the range (multiple times). It's obvious that this is what would happen, but I have a complete mental block about how to do this correctly.

Please see attached for the query/table layout.

If someone could de-stupid me I'd be very grateful!

Attachments

• ac1.jpg
    ac1.jpg
    66.7 KB · Views: 74

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 08:14
I am confused. Students who made payments outside the specified range and still haven't made payments within the range are selected. So why would you not include them? What other criteria must be considered? Inactive students, etc?

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 11:14
A = All Students
B = Students who made payment within date range
C = Students who didn't make payment within date range

A = B + C --> they either paid in the range or they didn't, all sutdents should be accounted for in either B or C

A is a table, B is a query you successfully built. All you have to do now is subtract B from A and you will get C. So, modify the query you posted like so: