Inserting values from combobox in table (1 Viewer)

Yashika

Local time
Today, 05:28
Hi Folks,

I am a newbie to ACCESS . And i am stuck with inserting values of combobox directly into a record in table.
I have five different tables(each has only one cloumn) and a complete full_details table(contains 5 cloumns).I have a simple form with five comoboxes and a save button on it. The five comboboxes are populated from five different comboxes at the time of form load. Now, I want to add values selected from these comboxes in fulll_details table.
My form is unbound.
I tried with VBA code ,

on the save button click,
I have written ,

Private Sub save_Click()
CurrentDb.Execute "Insert into Full_Details(Col1,col2,col3,col4,col5) Values ('" & Combo0 & "','" & Combo1 & "','" & Combo2 & "','" & Combo3 & "','" & Combo4 & "');"
MsgBox "Record Saved !!!", vbInformation, "Success"
End Sub

It gives me some error :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
"You can't reference a property or method for a control unless the control has the focus property set"

Ahhh...now this has got on my nerves...

See, above query works fine ,if i set focus of one combobox,but it adds only 1 combobox value in full_details table as only 1 column value.

Please help asap. This forum has helped me a lot. Finally, i have registered myself today. :):)

Hoping to get help from you all experts in ACCESS.

James Dudden

Access VBA Developer
Local time
Today, 13:28
Try puttin 'Me!' in front of each controlname as below:

Private Sub save_Click()
CurrentDb.Execute "Insert into Full_Details(Col1,col2,col3,col4,col5) Values ('" & Me!Combo0 & "','" & Me!Combo1 & "','" & Me!Combo2 & "','" & Me!Combo3 & "','" & Me!Combo4 & "');"
End Sub

pr2-eugin

Super Moderator
Local time
Hello Yashika, First.. Welcome to AWF.. :)

I would just add a small suggestion to James's solution.. Use a . (dot) operator rather than ! (bang), using dot will allow you to see the list of controls available as you type..
Code: