is microsoft access still used at your company (1 Viewer)

danieloxi49

Local time
Today, 17:56
I work in IT and i'm supposed to not like access, but it holds a place for me because it is what got me into databases about 10 yrs ago. In spite of all the heat it takes, it def has plenty of use cases but takes a lot of heat from developers. I've seen bad and good come out of access, but more good than bad. Is it still used at your company and is it generally accepted or are people fighting to turn them off and move to other solutions?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:26
Hi. Welcome to AWF!

We still use it all over the place.

AccessBlaster

Registered User.
Local time
My experience with Access and IT is like oil and water. When it comes building and deployment IT isn't very helpful. They were ok with you developing Access as long as kept it local or on a shared drive.
Putting it on a SQL server requires top level permissions. I was lucky to be granted a small space on the server.

Once the developer moves on or retires that's when the fun begins.

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
My last job was at major bank in the IT division. They didn't allow any use of Access within our division (we were a sql server shop).
They still allowed Access outside our division, but were starting to "try" to clamp down on use of it. Too many people creating Access database at the hobbyist level of skill and causing trouble. (Like when you see a post: "I'm brand new to Access, but about to deploy a Sales system for my company"--I can understand why IT hates Access).

At my current company, also major bank but not IT division, it is all over the place, but they are trying to persecute the use of it by essentially making everyone who uses a desktop tool homegrown (not Systems group), go through a rigorous documentation process. This has trimmed its use significantly.

I use it a lot.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 13:26