Mass Table Rename (1 Viewer)

jesusoneez

IT Dogsbody
Local time
Today, 07:07
I've been asked to come up with a way (one-off) of renaming over 100 hundred tables. The table are all called "STUD_ADMIN_blah". We need to remove the "STUD_ADMIN_" part of the table name.

Is there a nice easy way of doing this without having to physically rename each table individually?

Thanks in advance.

Steve

namliam

The Mailman - AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 08:07
Yes there most definatly is...

Check out the Tabledefs object (currentdb.tabledefs) in the Access help and i think you can go from there.

Regards

jesusoneez

IT Dogsbody
Local time
Thanks for replying. I am however a noober, and although I found the tabledefs object in the help, I've no VB knowledge and I didn't really understand any of it. I can't see how I'd change the name of all tables using a module using this object.

More prompting..?

Regards,

Steve

reclusivemonkey

Registered User.
Local time
Steve,

Unless someone is kind enough to write this code for you, you need to learn how to construct a simple loop in VBA. You would then loop through each table in your database, get the name, remove the first eleven characters, then rename the table with this. If you want to become more adept with access (I presume from your email you are the Access guru at Swiftcs), you will gain a LOT of productivity from VBA. How long would it take you to manually rename each table? Even if you spend this equivalent amount of time learning VBA, the next task you have to automate will benefit from what you learn in this exercise.

jesusoneez

IT Dogsbody
Local time
Nope, NOT an access guru. SwiftCS is my own domain name, so anything can go before "@swiftcs.co.uk". I organise Outlook that way. Everything to that e-mail address automatically goes to an Access folder...helps to filter out spam when I join websites (I use crap@swiftcs.co.uk for that). Anyway, sidetracked.