Tip Migrating from user-level security (mdb) to access2010 (1 Viewer)

stergio33

Local time
Yesterday, 23:07
Hi,
I am new in access 2010. I used to program in access 2003. Now I had to upgrade to 2010, but I had a ward time converting an existing db with uls, to new format.
I think my experience on solving this, may be helpful to some facing similar problems.
The steps that I took are finally the following:
1, I had to make the db free, ie to remove the user level security of mdb. So I gave to admin all the rights.
2. I had to convert the db to format 2003, since I found it was written in format 2000. So I tried to do it (database utilities/convert). My surprise was that I was not the owner of db, since I returned to system.mdw users file. So I created a new db, which made me owner, then I imported all objects to the new db. I was the owner then. Note that even I was admin, I could change the owner of the objects (tables, forms, etc), but not the db itself.
3. I had to decode the db (database utilities / encode / decode).
4. I compiled the code (opened the VBA window and selected compile db. I found a few bugs and corrected them. Compile is a good way to check against bugs.
5. I committed 'pack/repair'.
6. I opened access 2010 (in another pc) copied the mdb file(s) (I use a split db) and
I chose 'file/save & publish' then 'save as / Access Database (*.accdb). I clicked on 'save' and so a new file accdb was created.
7. I exited access and run again. Now I opened the new accdb file. I chose 'file/save & publish' then 'Make ACCDE'. I clicked on 'save' and so a new file accde was created!!!!!!!!!!
8. The problem now was this nerve-braking - how do they call it? - band with the tools and menus, that 2007 and later versions have set. It still exists in accde format. So I found the solution. Even you distribute the proper runtime, witch is best, if the workstation has not access installed, or if access is installed, you create a shortcut on the surface like this: