MS Access runtime won't open DB (1 Viewer)

rplohocky

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 13:25
Hello,
I'm brand new at using Access and using runtime.
I installed runtime on a pc that does not have the full version of Access just to see how the program looks and works. I saved the DB (accdb file) to the desktop first then double clicked the file and runtime opened with a warning saying the file is not in a trusted file, do you want to open anyway? I clicked open anyway but nothing happened, my form did not appear nor any other option to work with. After learning how to make the desktop file a trusted one by modifying the registry it still has the same warning and won't show the form.
Here's what I used..
You'll need to create a script or install routine that manually creates the necessary registry keys.

For example, setting these keys....

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Access\Security\Trusted Locations\Location0]
AllowSubFolders (REG_DWORD) = 1
Path (REG_SZ) "C:\Users\R\Desktop\OXI Integration.accdb"

I did this but it's still not working. Any ides?

Thanks for any help!

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 19:25
Have you tried to compile your database on the your machine with the full version? If it won't compile you'll get errors with a runtime version.

Ranman256

Local time
Today, 14:25
Try a newer, or older version of the runtime.

rplohocky

Registered User.
Local time
I didn't want to install on the second PC because I am trying to see what runtime will look like. I need to install runtime on about 25 othe PC's that don't have full vesion of Access. If i install Access it will default on the full version not runtime.

Also no I haven't tried any other version but the newest one.

Thanks again.

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
I don't see anyone suggesting installing a full version?

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I am trying to see what runtime will look like