Prevent Duplicates from Multiple Drop Downs in Access 2013 (1 Viewer)

CynthiaDel

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:11
Hello all. This is my first time reaching out on forums. I typically find my answers on here but this time for this specific question I can't seem to find a similar post so I'm hoping for some feedback.

I'm in Access 2013 and I built a form with multiple drop downs. Here is what I have in the same order of which the user must choose from......

Document "Field Observation", "Monthly Inspection", "Safety Roster" (The user must first choose the document from this drop down he is recording)

Supervisor "First & Last Name" (The user then chooses the first & last name of the specific Supervisor name he is recording the document for from this drop down)

Manager - This field automatically populates based on Supervisor.
AOR - This field automatically populates based on Supervisor.
Org Unit - This field automatically populates based on Supervisor.

Month "January", "February", etc. (The user then chooses the Month of which the document will need to be applied to)

I would like the form to trigger an error with "This document is already recorded for this month" when the user chooses "Monthly Inspection" OR "Safety Roster" for a specific "Supervisor" for a specific "Month" that is already recorded in "TBL_DataTracker". The TBL_DataTracker is where all of my records are stored.

Thank you in advance for your help!

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 22:11
I would suggest putting some code in the forms Before Update event which would use the DCount() function with the required criteria to return the number of existing records. If it returns a value greater than 0 then there must already be a record and then you could cancel the update and give a message to the user.

CynthiaDel

Registered User.
Local time