Progress Bar in MS Access (2 Viewers)

apr pillai

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:54
Joined
Jan 20, 2005
Messages
707
I tend to count the records with a dcount("*","queryname") first. If there are no records, then I never open the recordset.



It may be more efficient to open the recordset, and do a movelast instead. I don't know, to be honest.


It depends on what purpose we open the recordset for. If you attempt to take a count of records Immediately after opening the recordset the output will be 1. That means the recordset is not fully populated in memory.

To do that an rs.movelast is required before taking a count. On the SysCmd() case we need the total count of records for the initial call to the command. Subsequent calls needs the processed record count.

Yes, we all code differently taking it through the known route for faster delivery, till it is proved wrong or inefficient.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

axsprog

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:24
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
15
i can't post links yet as I haveonly 6 and this makes 7 but if you search Spy dot com I mean Google for:


access vba conditional format databar as progress bar


you will some great articles for this


easiest way to have a progress bar without a progress bar ;) Might take a little tweaking with recordcounts but I use them to show task progress on individual Projects we do.
 

axsprog

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:24
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
15
the improbable becomes the probable :)
 

axsprog

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:24
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
15
My post was clear - I said I (me) use it for certain things AND I did not know how it interacts with recordsets Also I don't use the syscommand for my users because they really don't look at it , they look at an hour glass or maybe a pop up modal form (where I run the code from) until finished. I used to do all the above but unless I do a heavy process dependent routine, I have found systems run so fast and connectivity and bandwidth so wide that users generally do not have to wait for anything However other than the one client I am converting to 365 frontend from an adp(first I imported into 2007) all of my clients are remote on Office 365/TerminalServices so performance is always spot on. I use the bars for displaying overall progress and performance, not as a realtime counter. But check out the articles if you have never used the data bar feature with the conditional formatting.
 

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:24
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
13,988
I have some processes that will take several minutes to complete, so I use an hourglass, a progress meter, and a auto-clearing msgbox to advise users to be patient at times.
 

Micron

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 04:24
Joined
Oct 20, 2018
Messages
3,471
My post was clear.
No need to get bent out of shape. I read the article and it said the control has to be bound. Since you disagreed with me and stated that such use of a textbox is probable, I simply and politely asked you to show why it is not improbable as a meter.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom