Question about Access on a server (1 Viewer)

itmasterw

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:52
Hi,
I am a contractor, that was brought in to make some enhancements and upgrade their application from Access 2003 to 2010 and put it on a sever.
Now I know the first thing that you will say here is that they need to spilt it in a front end and back end and it is what I would do to; but they absolutely do not want to do that.
Anyway, I finished everything and put it on the 2008 R2 windows server and it works great. The next step though will be to have a few users use it, at the same time, to see if that works. I have not done a lot of Access applications on a server, most of mine was local to the user. And the few I did we split the database; but again they do not want to do that.

So, my question is what issues can I expect if any and how might I rectify them.

Thank you

kevlray

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:52
I not one of the experts, but my experience has shown if you have any number of users using the same database at the same time, your database will get corrupted. I realize the worst situation I saw was a bit different. But we had 20+ users using the same database (not split) on a shared Novell drive. There database was getting corrupted about every two weeks (fortunately we had a good backup system). Now every user has their own FE and the tables are on a MS-SQL database. No corruption or crashing issues.

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 03:52
In this web page Microsoft says if you can do that if

• No more than a few people are expected to use the database at the same time.
  • No Memo fields are present in the database, or if they are, they will not be simultaneously updated by different users.
  • Users do not need to customize the design of the database.