Question security (1 Viewer)

mpj

Local time
Today, 05:26
Hi people,

I'm new to Access and sorry if this is a newbie question but I'm migrating from Excel in an attempt to get a little more security.

I intend to transform a calculation system, originally developed in Excel, and add new functionalities.

It is a calculation oriented system so the database part "does not" have sensitive content.

The most important is the actual code!!!

So, I question if simply publishing my file in .accde format I guarantee the security of my code or can I still have problems?

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 01:26
Hi. As long as you put all your calculation code in a module, creating ACCDE file should keep them secured.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 03:26
What is your definition of "security"? What are you afraid of occuring?

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:26
You can prevent people from accidentally changing things but no Access app is ever actually secure in the larger sense. After compiling to .accde, you should also rename the file to .accdr. This tells Access to pretend to be the Access Run Time so no one can even get to the navigation pane to open objects. Of course, the user can rename back to .accde and that gives them access to tables/queries/macros.

Your app should use a menu or switchboard to guide all actions so users only get to interact with forms and reports.

mpj

Local time
What is your definition of "security"? What are you afraid of occuring?
I'm afraid that someone will be able to access the forms and modules and see my codes.

That's why I asked if my file in .accde format would protect my application or if for an advanced user, for example, this wouldn't be an impediment.

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
I'm afraid that someone will be able to access the forms and modules and see my codes.