return table name in query results (1 Viewer)

RichardMarbat

Local time
Tomorrow, 09:11
Hi guys

I hope this hasn't been asked before, I did look...

I would like to return the table name as a field in the query, I know I can type it in but I have many tables to run this on and sooner or later ill get it wrong so I would like to return it from a system variable if possible. I'm an old FoxPro programmer, in fox, amongst other ways, you could 'select blah, blah,dbf() as tablename from blah, etc'

is there an equivalent in Access?

Thanks, Richard

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 17:11
What exactly is the query involved?

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
There are several versions of this.

RichardMarbat

Local time
What exactly is the query involved?
selecting pretty much the whole file and then exporting as text - this is then consumed into a mysql database - the table name is used to reference the source of that batch. so not really a working Access system as such - the data is only required for a couple of months and then deleted, this cycle just continues ...

I have tried googling this, I don't want to know the tables in the database ect i just want my query to look something like this ...

select field001,field002,[name of the table im selecting from] as sourcefile from table

this query is just exported to a delimited text file ...

Last edited:

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
If you have some code to create and export the query data, then it is quite common to include the source table name (and even a date/timestamp) in the data.
We need to know more about your process. Where Access fits? How the query is generated/created? etc.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:11