Site down - out of memory (1 Viewer)

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,061
Hi all.

Few issues with the site going down today. Out of memory issues as not enough server ram. This seems strange since it wasn't a busy time. Since my host seems to have been taken over by another company, the service and reliability has gone downhill.

Working on the issue.
 

Minty

AWF VIP
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
6,543
Sites just come back up after about 3 hours down.
5:15pm UK time.
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,061
Host has said it was a bot attack. They are still looking into it.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
5,017
Not sure it is me or the site at the moment.:confused:
Chrome which I normally use has a strange display. Time shows GMT+1
Firefox which I tried with, has normal display, but shows GMT-8
Pale Moon shows normal display and GMT+1
 

Attachments

Insane_ai

Not Really an A.I.
Joined
Mar 20, 2009
Messages
264
I'm finally able to get a DNS report on the site whereas yesterday I could not. The site still has some holes in the structure for DNS and more concerning, the nameservers are not resolving. You may want to look into this a bit deeper with your host and IT Team.


I use dnscolos for my reports but be careful to enter the address yourself, there are a lot of bad links that will come up in a Google search.
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
12,357
And the first thing that popped to mind after reading that was 'Where did nfk run off to?'.
I seriously doubt he'd have the skill/knowledge to be responsible. :D
After all, he is a small member who seems to have No F...ing Knowledge
 

Frothingslosh

Premier Pale Stale Ale
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
3,257
It doesn't take much knowhow to use the Low Orbit Ion Cannon.

Valid point, though, regardless.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
5,017
Strange behaviour?

Hi,
I received a notification email as below

This thread is located at:
https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=301119&goto=newpost

Here is the message that has just been posted:
***************
Flawless! Thank you so much guys! much appreciated!
***************
but when I click the link I get thread https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?p=1588885#post1588885

Furthermore, I cannot find that post in the correct thread, so perhaps it was deleted.?
 

Minty

AWF VIP
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
6,543
I'm having difficulty uploading a picture file to the site only 68Kb so not a size issue, is anyone else ?

Error message:
Code:
This site can’t be reached
The webpage at https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/newattachment.php?do=manageattach&p= might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
ERR_SPDY_PROTOCOL_ERROR
:confused:
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
5,017
Just tried a quick upload.
Seems to work as it should.?
 

Attachments

Minty

AWF VIP
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
6,543
@Gasman -Thanks

Hmm - I had a large windows updates yesterday... ok - I'll fiddle around and try again.
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,061
Host claims lots of php disconnects, and lots of failed logins, as people try to hack the site. Says lots of IP addresses from China.

He is setting up a cron job to clear these php disconnects once a day, all automated. Lets hope that is the issue and this can go away.
 

molikotigo

New member
Joined
Dec 15, 2019
Messages
1
Chrome which I normally use has a strange display. Time shows GMT+1
Firefox which I tried with, has normal display, but shows GMT-8
Pale Moon
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom