Sql "select Top 1" as filter for report 'on load' event.

oldfryeguy

Local time
Today, 11:54
I'm new to VBA but know a bit of SQL im trying to call a report. i want it to open and see only the highest id from a query. could i make a working "on load" event using the docmd.runsql then select top 1 from queryname? im getting an error ive tried looking at tables (instead of queries) too-no better. i can't find much in the forum on top1 as filter.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 16:54
Just set the recordsource of the report with the SQL string?

Me.RecordSource = "Select Top 1 StepsID, StepsDate from tbldates ORDER BY StepsID DESC"

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
If you get an error, provide the error number and description. Also provide the exact code you are using (i.e. copy and paste it)

It may be your code 'select top 1 from queryname' is not valid sql (the error message will tell you that). At the least it needs to be 'select top 1 * from queryname' and also requires that whatever your query is called, it does not have spaces or non alpha numeric characters in its name. Or it may be you have not included your sql in quotes. Without the error message, we a guessing. And many responders here get tired of having to keep asking and you end up on their ignore list.

Top 1 is not a filter, it is a criteria. It usually requires the query to be sorted in the order you want to get the top 1.

you might find this site a good resource for sql grammar and what it does

cheekybuddha

AWF VIP
Local time
i want it to open and see only the highest id from a query.
Sounds like you really want a MAX() aggregate query rather than a TOP N query:
SQL:
SELECT
  t.*
FROM YourTable t
INNER JOIN (
  SELECT
    MAX(ID) AS MaxID
  FROM YourTable
) m
        ON t.ID = m.MaxID
;

oldfryeguy

Local time

Me.RecordSource = "Select Top 1 StepsID, StepsDate from tbldates ORDER BY StepsID DESC"