Supply Inventory, Musical Instrument, hand receipts and Budget, Purchasing database (1 Viewer)

mgtuba

Local time
Today, 13:47
Hello Everybody,

I am a relatively new self-taught access user and brand new to this message board with a very small amount of access knowledge but a relentless work ethic and passion to really understand and learn the program. As a matter of fact, everytime I learn something new- I get excited. I enjoy seeing what other people do and sample templates because it gives me ideas I can use for work. Anyway, my reason for writing is I have a project at work for our supply, budget, purchasing and inventory control work area. I need to develop a database that would be easy and fun tailored for inventory control, maintenance, purchasing and budgeting (integrating quarterly projections and actual spending amount on a quarterly basis). The problem is I know exactly what I want the database to do but I can't seem to get it to work. The existing database is not organized very well and people normally typed directly into the table, added unnecessary field that if deleted mess up the queries and reports. Do you know if there is a super-inventory/purchase and budget database perhaps even with bar coding options that already exists? I've been to Microsoft and downloaded some cool templates but just not quite what I am looking for. Anyway onto the database. I am in a professional band of about 70 members and an overall inventory of over 2 million. The members of our band work here anywhere from 2 to 8 years and are allowed to take the instruments with them or they have the option of turning them back into supply. The problem is when the member leaves, how do you keep a permanent history of every single piece of equipment that has ever been associated with the band? Also, when new band members arrive here they sometimes bring their own instrument with them that becomes the band's property until they move and then the instrument and last known information n