The dreaded "Vacation Accrual" queston. (1 Viewer)

The_Vincester

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 23:29
Please bear with me.

I'm fairly new to access, and have learned much in the past three weeks I've been "learning" how to use it.

I was simply sick of the process that was going on at my place of business where I'm a Manager (I've been there for about 3 months). We keep about 10 Excel forms for the different pieces of information (production numbers and such) we keep for each individual in the department. There are 115 people, 3 shifts working 24 hours a day. Each morning I would go in and open each excel file to analyze what happened the day before.

We're also tracking an individual's days off, tardiness, quality... you name it.

I finally decided it was time for a database... I had worked with them in the past, but I had never actually "built" one. I've actually knocked out a significant portion of what needs to be done, and I'm proud of my product thus far... except for one thing:

Vacation accrual is "kicking my posterior"!

I've searched these forums (finding some answers, most of which I don't understand), but I almost need to be handed the answers. My other struggles I've overcome with the help of these very forums and Google.

I'll lay out our policy and what I need and hopefully someone can help me. As I learn access (and I will!), maybe one day I could come back here and help someone else that may be in need.

Our policy is as follows:

90 Days to be eligible for accrual.

1-3 years of service - 6.67 Hours a Month (10 Day a year or 80 Work Hours... all the same, and whichever makes things easier)
4-7 years of service 10 hours a month (same deal as above as 15 days or 120 work hours)
+8 years -13.33 hours a month (blah blah)

The hours do NOT carry over, they are all use it or lose it. I can make manual entries when necessary, so it doesn't have to be all "automatic".