Solved Unrecognised Database Format (1 Viewer)

kevnaff

Local time
Today, 07:24
Hi there.

I have recently taken over the management of my department's access database. I work in a Hospital and the database is used mainly to keep a record of any medical equipment that we own and also any repair or service that is carried out on it.

Each user has a copy of the front end database on their computer. The backend data is stored on a shared drive which is frequently backed up by the Hospital's IT Team.

The last 3 weeks, when I have come in on Monday morning, a user has reported to me that they are seeing an unrecognised database format message. I have performed a compact and repair on the database and this has solved the issue. However, I'm worried that as this issue keeps occurring, that I may eventually have to revert back to a version before any corruption was occurring. This would mean reverting the database back to the middle of April, which will result in a big loss of data.

The database is not used over the weekend. However some users do stay logged in over the weekend, sometimes accidentally, other times just through old habits. I've read somewhere on the forums that having the database open over a long period of time, can cause an issue like this. Today, users had logged in to the database, but nobody had entered any data in to any tables, before receiving the message. However, one user had been logged in the whole weekend, and was able to navigate through the various forms without receiving any error message.

I was wondering whether anyone had any experience with an issue occurring frequently like this?

Also if anyone had any tips on how to handle a large loss of data? As I am able to repair and compact the database, would it be possible to export the data out of the repaired version in to an excel document, and then import it back in?

Any advice is much appreciated.

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 14:24