Guilty or Not Guilty? The George Floyd trial... (2 Viewers)

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 08:36
Thanks for the heads up, I turned the news on. Awfully quick ... if I were Chauvin I'd be worried.
Not even jury questions! Dang

moke123

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 11:36
i think they did have questions but they were about the instrructions and done via zoom.

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
i think they did have questions but they were about the instrructions and done via zoom.
Oh - okay, I heard somewhere there were none. But you may be right as I have no real knowledge.

Well, the national guard has 32 minutes to get ready and counting. I have a feeling this verdict will not provide much excuse for unrest, though.
I'm going with manslaughter as a guess.
Although thinking about it more, perhaps some Americans have over-estimated the difficulty it would take to arrive at unanimity on the Murder charge, given the fact that it's not premeditated murder, only felony murder, which only requires them to basically agree he was intentionally committing felony assault.... Perhaps the ease of finding unanimity on those 2 charges is actually fairly similar.

This reminds me of a criminal law final exam, having to do with a person who discharged a weapon straight up into the air inside the city limits (a felony, generally speaking, in the exam prompt), and the bullet fell down and killed someone. I honestly can't remember what my answer was - and there were a few more nuances provided in the prompt as well which I forgot. Actually I think the death was caused by something other than a falling bullet. It was a fascinating exam!

Last edited:

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:36
That is very quick. I wonder if that doesn't bode well for Chauvin.

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time