Another strange site quirk? (1 Viewer)

The_Doc_Man

Happy Retired Curmudgeon
Local time
, 20:21
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
16,806
I have noticed a couple of users posting twice and I have seen where Access is trying to double-post me. Is something odd going on with the site? Has anyone else noticed this?
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,168
This happens to me but only on another forum. In my case it can occur when using a WiFi connection and the signal strength is poor.

Something else strange here. Doc's post was moderated which makes no sense at all. Its not the only such post.
I have reported this as an issue in the moderators forum to alert site admins.
Ironically that post was also moderated so I had to approve my own post
 
Last edited:

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
5,734
I have just had the issue where the site said the message was a copy of a message recently posted, but after posting, one is normally taken to the message, where as I was still in the edit window.?

Edit: it just did it to this initial post, :D so something is wrong.
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,168
I have just had the issue where the site said the message was a copy of a message recently posted, but after posting, one is normally taken to the message, where as I was still in the edit window.?

Edit: it just did it to this initial post, :D so something is wrong.
That was the issue I had as well.
Also very odd to be told I had to wait for a moderator to approve my message :D
 

Galaxiom

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:21
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
11,932
Doing weird stuff for me too.

I tried to delete a duplicate post of mine it put on another thread and threw me out when I put in my password confirmation. (I had to get a new password today but I was definitely using the one it sent me.)
 

Tera

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:21
Joined
Feb 2, 2019
Messages
972
Just an hour ago, I clicked Post Quick Reply twice and two identical replies was posted. I tried to delete one of them, but I couldn't find any way to do so.

Here's the post:
https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=306880

Edit: It seems I have to edit the post, go to advanced editor mode and there's an option there to delete the message.
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,501
I will keep an eye on this to see if it goes away or not. Sometimes things resolve themselve spontaneously.
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,501
Weird, when I posted that, it said it was a duplicate post.
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
12,092
not sure if it is related but there have been a number of moderated posts today (which I've now approved) which were duplicated - but probably because the OP couldn't see their first post so reposted.

Also, now, when clicking reply the edit box gets populated with the latest post which is really irritating
 

The_Doc_Man

Happy Retired Curmudgeon
Local time
, 20:21
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
16,806
As to the case where it drops you into the "advanced edit" box, in that mode you can usually see the last post. If you do, just don't edit. Navigate without saving and at least you can avoid the duplicate post.

EDIT: When I posted this, I got a message box that said "This post is a duplicate of a post you have entered in the last five minutes. You will be redirected to that post.

Bizarre!
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,501
Just rebooted the server. Seeing if I get a duplicate message again.
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:21
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,501
Nope! Let me know if things are fixed for you guys.
 

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
, 20:21
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
2,884
is anyone else getting this error on a regular basis? It might not be "regular" per se, but it's happened during the last week for me. Is Jon running on a shared server? Or is the site perhaps really overloaded with traffic? I never really see that many people "viewing" the different forums and there certainly aren't a high number of new posts nowadays...
 

Attachments

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
, 20:21
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
2,884
and yet another unique one tonight:

ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED

That was being shown for like 5 hours tonight for me.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom