Beginner creating accounting system (1 Viewer)

timkim

Local time
Today, 13:54
I'm new to Access and I'm trying to create an accounting system. I can usually find answers on Google but I'm having a hard time figuring this problem out. I'd appreciate any help with creating an Access 2010 web database that will be hosted in SharePoint 2013 so I'm going to be creating it in an Access web database.

My company hires contractors from contracting companies and we pay $x per hour. We estimate how many hours the contractor works on a project and we make "work orders" for each project. We have a pre-approved budget for each company.

I'm trying to create a system that allows the user to basically create new records containing work order info like the dollar amount spent. Each time a new work order is added, it will subtract the work order money from the approved budget.
For example:

1. Budget1 = $25,000
  2. User creates WorkOrder 1 for $5,000.
  3. Budget1 = $20,000
  4. User createswork order for $5,000
  5. Budget1= $20,000
I created a two tables with a project id column for both tables. In the budget table I created one record with project ID = 5000 and approved budget = $25,000. Then in the workorder table I created two records with project ID = 5000 and WOtotal = $5,000 (in each record). Then I created the query and selected both tables. Then I linked them by clicking on projectID in the budget table and dragging my mouse to projectID in the workorder table. However, the "Totals" button on the "Design" tab is grayed out. I tried using that formula but I got an error message that read "The expression you entered is not valid for Web-compatible queries." Does this not work on an access web database?

I'd appreciate any help or advice. I'm not even sure if I'm going about this the right way.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 21:54
Does this not work on an access web database?
'Fraid not - neither GROUP BY nor DISTINCT is supported