Career advice? (1 Viewer)

Db-why-not

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:58
Hello,
I just wanted some advice on what career direction I should go. I really enjoy designing and developing access databases, using vba code to automate different processes, making my forms interactive. I've also been learning more about sql server and connecting my access forms to sql server. I like working with it. My spouse is telling me I should really focus on learning some other frontend program. I have some HTML experience. I'm thinking about learning more about front end web development or full stack developers. Im just wondering what programs topics should I focus on learning. I'm probably going to be self taught, online courses only, I don't have time enroll in full-time program. I'm thinking about learning more about. .Net and asp.net. , c#. If I want to do more front end design is that the best platform to focus my time on learning for the best career options?

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 16:58
take a look at the similar threads section at the bottom of this thread. This one, https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/threads/career-question.151675/ although 12 years old is still relevant today.

Your thread title is career advice - so where do you see yourself in 5/10 years time? Or to be more precise - what do you want to be doing? Answer that and we might be able to provide more specific advice.

With regards languages, they fall in and out of favour, new ones come and go. What really matters from an employers perspective is can you demonstrate you can do the job? The web is particularly fluid and fickle so be prepared to get to grips with not one but perhaps half a dozen different technologies.

Look at your local/national job boards to see what is popular right now, see what sort of skill sets are being sought

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 09:58