Combo Box Autofill Issue (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 00:53
Hi All,

I have a new issue that has appeared with Windows 11. Below is an image with 6 combo boxes. All of these are setup the same with properties.

They all have 2 columns, with the first PK bound column width at 0cm. A query displays the right information, the combo holds the number.

The customer combo does NOT start to autofill when I type into, unless I put it into a dropdown state.

All the other combos DO start to autofill when I type into them. This doesn't happen on Windows 10.

Combo Issue.png

Has anyone else experienced this with Windows 11?

~Matt

MattBaldry

Local time
Some new information, if I change the row source to the tbl, it works. If I base the combo on a query, it fails....

~Matt

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 19:53
Try setting the sort property on the control to sort by the text field.

MattBaldry

Local time
Try setting the sort property on the control to sort by the text field.
Hi Pat,

I already have this setup. This issue seems to be Windows 11 related, as I can open the same database on Windows 10 and there are no issues.

I have now switched back to my older, slower machine on Windows 10 as access run faster this way. Windows 11 was slower on every form used, which is very frustrating as the new machine is better for everything.

My main form on my old machines opens in less than a second. The same form on the newer Windows 11 machine is anywhere between 5 and 12 seconds, it makes no sense to me.

Any form based on a query is now painfully slow. But forms based on tables are lightning fast. Is there a query handling issue in Windows 11?

~Matt

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time