Commission Cancels Oct. 15 US Presidential Debate (1 Viewer)

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Today, 06:37
Very early the next morning, following the vice-Presidential debate; The Commission on Presidential Debates (unilaterally without any apparent participant consultation), changed the debate rules. Trump immediately rejected those revised rules. In response, the The Commission on Presidential Debates abruptly cancelled the debate. Commission cancels Oct. 15 presidential debate. Extremely perplexing. After all, the purpose of these debates is to give the candidates the opportunity for them to disclose to the electorate what polices they would implement if elected. Cancelling the debate is counter to the Commission's mandate.

I have no insider knowledge concerning this, but it is easy to speculate that this was done to secretly "protect" the Biden/Harris campaign.

• The so-called debate "moderators", in this election cycle as in past election cycles, have proven to be anti-Republican, in this case anti-Trump. This year, it has been exposed the Commission itself is made-up of Never Trumpers even if they are supposedly Republicans. So the Commission itself is now partisan (pro-Biden)
  • Biden has evaded answering policy questions. One notable example, his repeated refusals to answer questions concerning the US Supreme Court. At some point even the anti-Trump media may begin to ask this question and other questions. Squelching the debate may keep Biden's agenda "under wraps".
  • Trump was an embarrassment at the first debate. An obvious conjecture supporting having a second debate by the Biden camp is that Trump would fail again. But given the abrupt cancellation of this debate, can one actually speculate that Trump did not fail? I have not looked into this issue, but I've seen a smattering of headlines made by biased Trump surrogates that he won, however implausible. Did Democratic internal polling actually disclose that that Biden did worse than perceived?