Deployment- Storing Application Settings (1 Viewer)

GBalcom

Much to learn!
Local time
Today, 09:17
What is your preferred method of storing application settings for access? Things like Back end location (so an updated FE knows where to look), User Preferences, and other "global" settings. I'd prefer not to hard code them in VBA, because they may need to change at some point. But that is an option.

This is my first time creating an app that will "live" off-site for me. So, I'm trying to be extra cautious, because I won't be there to immediately support it. The BE will reside on a local server, and the FE will be deployed to 5-10 user computers.

So far I can see I have a few avenues:
  • Add a table in the back end, with 1 record, and all the settings I would need that are common across users. Then do something else for the user-specific settings.
  • Use an .INI file (Still researching if all machines could point to 1 .INI on the server and if this was a recommended practice.)
  • Use Registry settings for all of them. I'm not against this, and maybe this is the preferred method?
  • Hardcode all of the "global" settings in each FE version. It may be easiest because it's automatic, but if a change is required, I would need time to release a new FE Version. I will be employing a type of FE Auto-update, so future deployment is easier.

NauticalGent

Ignore List Poster Boy
Local time
Today, 12:17
I personally like the Table based solution. If you choose to build in some User-defined settings, it makes it much easier.

GBalcom

Much to learn!
Local time
NauticalGent,
Thank you for your feedback. So, I'm guessing that your table for this is in the BE, and you have a record for each user? (So it can hold user-specific settings as well?) This seems like a good option.

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 17:17
Most of my split databases use a SQL Server BE and are used by multiple clients, each with their own settings.