Solved Find characters and remove them (1 Viewer)

PatAccess

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 03:29
Hello all,

This is my first time using the SQL Server side of this forum after using the VBA side for over 6 years :)

I am working on a project and need help with a tsql script that will read a string
Most of the values are of the form 20R, 20POS, 200R or 200POS or 200.... and I want a script that will read the character and remove the R or POS if found
so something like
Code:
IF variable LIKE '%R%' or variable LIKE '%POS%'
BEGIN
    variablelength - 1?
END

Thank you,

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:29
Perhaps you can use the REPLACE function?

Replace the "POS" part of the input string with a zero-length string.

PatAccess

Registered User.
Local time
Perhaps you can use the REPLACE function?

Replace the "POS" part of the input string with a zero-length string.
Ok I will try that but what metadata function can I use to return a field name. I have been using OBJECT_ID(DB_NAME) to return a database name.
Can I use OBJECT_NAME(FIELD_NAME) to return a field name. something like
Code:
IF OBJECT_NAME(field_name) LIKE '%R'
    BEGIN
        REPLACE(...)
    END
And will it replace the values in the table?

Thank you so much

Isaac

Lifelong Learner
Local time
Today, 00:29
This sounds like it should be an update query, not a variable.

This is always preferable to a loop.

Have you tried this? Coming from VBA new into SQL makes us think "loop-y", but such is not usually called for (99% of the time)

PatAccess

Registered User.
Local time
This sounds like it should be an update query, not a variable.

This is always preferable to a loop.

Have you tried this? Coming from VBA new into SQL makes us think "loop-y", but such is not usually called for (99% of the time)
No I didn't try the update statement but wouldn't I need to still use the REPLACE function? Oooohh wait. Do you mean
Code:
UPDATE tbl_name