How to handle “inactive” records? (1 Viewer)

Sarameier

Local time
Today, 03:59
Dear all,

I am just a beginner with access. Therefore, please apologize if I am not yet familiar with most of the Access functions.

My situation:

I am currently using Access 2016.

My main purpose is to have a simple Form-Subform structure. This means for example, having
  • a form with a user (user A)
  • which includes a subform showing number of related accounts (account 1,2,3..)

For this, I have just been using the subform function in Access. That means:
  • I had related the tables USER and ACCOUNTS through a lookup field
  • And I used the form wizard and then included both tables USER and ACCOUNT
  • And the form wizard created a form including a subform automatically
  • The completed form now allows me to just choose a user and to see all related accounts listed in the subform
So far so good!

My question is now: how to deal with “inactive” records?
For example, there might be
  • users which should not appear anymore in the choice list, because they have left
  • accounts which are not active anymore, and the should not appear anymore in the subform, even if they related to a chosen user

Should I therefore create two queries
  • which would show only the “active“ records (query_active_users, query_active_accounts)
  • and create a new form with these two queries subsequently?
Thanks for all answers in advance 😊

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 09:59
you add a Yes/No field (Active) to your table.
Create a Query that will filter your table to only include when this field is set to Yes.
use this Query as recordsource of your form/combobox, etc.

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 21:59
It seems you have to be clear in what you want your query(ies) to return.