How to make text change in a combox box (1 Viewer)

Slim Shamble

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:46
Hi

I am new to Ms access. I have a form which is use to input student data for
assessment report. i have a text box and a combo box namely total and status
respectively. the status has its own text in it as Pass & fail. I want my combo box
value to change to pass if value in total is > 45 and fail if value in total is < 45.

I hope is understood. Kind respond will be appreciated.

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 04:46
if the field is called Total then try

Code:
=IIf([Total] > 45, "Pass", "Fail")

in the control source, but that will give you Fail for total <= 45.

Slim Shamble

Registered User.
Local time
Didn't work. When clicked it pops up "Compile error: Syntax error "

Any more idea?

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time
Putting that code in a control source shouldn't create a "Compile error: Syntax error ". Normally you would see #Name? in the textbox if the field was incorrect. I guess I don't understand what you are doing or are trying to do.

Please post a screen shot of the form in design view and describe what you want to happen.

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
What is the Row Source Property of the combo box

Slim Shamble

Registered User.
Local time
In the results portal, I choose a subject and enter the student value for test and exam. The Total field will calculate the total score the student get for the specific subject. Now in the status combo box, the row source is "Pass", "Fail". I need the status combo box to choose "pass" if the student total score for the specific subject is greater than 45 and "Fail" if less than 45.

Hope is understood guyz?

Last edited:

sneuberg

AWF VIP
Local time