Is the security really expired here? (1 Viewer)

The_Doc_Man

Happy Retired Curmudgeon
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
17,083
Adam, on this one you are innocent.

Jon, your security certificate has expired. I know it isn't the first time that you have had that issue with your hosting company. Well, it happened again.
 

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
2,884
thanks richard! whew! I was afraid I was getting the attention of the black hats, and maybe even the NSA. Just yesterday I was on the phone with the hosting company InMotion, and the agent says out of the blue:
what's that clicking noise I hear in the background on your end?
Perhaps I AM being monitored by the united states government....I certainly wouldn't put it past the NSA, even *after* the Edward Snowden incident called them out on their illegal activities.
 

The_Doc_Man

Happy Retired Curmudgeon
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
17,083
Adam, in order to gain that kind of attention, you need overseas clients or work in a secret clearance shop. But of course, there is your Russian lady friend...
 

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 19:54
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
3,882
I'm getting the same warning message that Adam is getting.

Anybody got any idea how long it will take to fix the problem.
 

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
2,884
I'm getting the same warning message that Adam is getting.

Anybody got any idea how long it will take to fix the problem.
Bob, it's a strange issue. I have not tested this issue with chrome, however I'm now not getting it and I'm on my laptop using FF. I cleared everything out of my system with a deep scan from cCleaner though. But I doubt that's related. Not once did I ever get the security warning when I moved from my phone over to my laptop. I wonder if that is related to Jon's unreliable hosting company?
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 19:54
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
6,048
I've notified Jon by email as well.
 

PaulD2019

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:54
Joined
Nov 23, 2019
Messages
40
I'm getting the same warning using chrome too, I'm sure they'll get it fixed soon though
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 19:54
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,437
Just to say Jon is aware of the issue
 

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 19:54
Joined
Sep 28, 1999
Messages
2,700
My useless pain in the butt host cocks up the security certificate every year at this time, despite it being paid. Sorted now until same time next year.
 

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
2,884
we're sorry you had to take time off your vacation to address this stupid issue Jon. hopefully you enjoy the rest of it.
 

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
2,884
unsecure images on the forum....

I've seen this so many times on websites that properly install SSL encryption, but yet firefox still throws this error. How could their be anything unsecure about images? Is firefox scared of rouge code that could be present at their source URL? That seems a little strange....I am running Firefox 71, which is the most up to date version:

https://www.google.com/search?q=what+is+the+newest+version+of+firefox
 

Attachments

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 19:54
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
3,882
My useless pain in the butt host cocks up the security certificate every year at this time, despite it being paid. Sorted now until same time next year.
Thank you Jon. Everything seems to be back to normal:)
 

The_Doc_Man

Happy Retired Curmudgeon
Local time
Today, 13:54
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
17,083
Adam,

Some images include actual programs. Not usually .BMP, and .JPG is also unlikely. However, it is possible for an image to contain rogue code. Particularly if the image contains "hot spots" of some sort, things can get dicey.

Granted, it would be rare. Another thing that might trigger that message is that the source of the image is outside the scope of the certificate even though the page itself IS in scope. Like if the page code had an external hyperlink.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom