Solved Macro to Copy Record Before Edit (1 Viewer)

TKaisierBHG

Local time
Today, 06:49
Hey All,

I am an intern working in risk modeling. I have been tasked with setting up a database in access for all of our models. We need a record of all past models, and edits of current models for legal purposes. My boss asked if I could set up a way for a record to be copied to a seperate table BEFORE it is edited? Would I use a macro to do this? If so, how? Currently, I have a form set up for record entry. The idea was that the end user would use one form for both data entry and to update the records. Would I find more success in setting up a separate form? If that is the case, how would I set that up?

TLDR: I need to keep every update to a record, but for simplicity sake would like to have one table with all the current models. How do I do this?

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:49
First, as that was your post #1 forum-wide, hello and welcome to our forum.

Your language confuses me a little. Do you really have just a single record that somehow encapsulates a risk model in some way?

To answer the question, though, there is this issue that you would probably make copies of every record every time you merely viewed it unless you had a setup that required use of a "prepare to edit" button or something like that. The reason I am saying that is because with a form tied to a specific record set (a.k.a. "bound form"), Access is already normally in "edit" mode. Someone could just step in and start editing.

One approach is an "audit" table that could be generated when you are about to update a record. This would involve code underneath the form's "BeforeUpdate" event to show what changes were made.