Newbie needs some help with VBA Modules (1 Viewer)

JJSHEP89

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:35
So im new to the forum and still fairly green on my VBA, just about everything i know has been self taught (im sure yall know how that goes). what i am struggling with is a code module that I'm building to work with a database to track manufacturing tooling. i have put together a number of read and write forms with buttons etc. for the shop workers to use for viewing and tracking tooling data. the problem i am having is with a module for a search box where a user can input a tool number or a part number (each tool produces different parts, some tools produce multiple different parts) and the vba will lookup and return the proper form with data corresponding to the tool.

I have 2 separate tables one containing all the specific tools, and one the other containing all the specific parts. they are linked with a one to many relationship.

Here is my code, I have commented out quite a bit of it while ive been trouble shooting but you'll get the idea. Im having trouble when i get to the dlookup for the tables. i believe im missing something where i need to define the database or the recordset maybe? this is where my knowlege fades.

I am expecting the code to take the user input in the form of a part number, job number, etc. and return the tool number which the query uses to populate the forms. I have the job number portion working just fine but the DLookup to return the tool number from the part number is whats failing.

Code:
Sub VBATest()
Dim strSearch As String
Dim strToolNumber As Variant
Dim intCount As Integer

On Error GoTo ErrorHandler:

strSearch = InputBox("Enter a Tool Number or Part Number.")

'Select...Case statement checks to see if the user has entered an invalid _
    entry in the form of a Job number and not a Tool or Part number, the code _
    removes the Job number tag off the end and returns the corrected tool number.