Relationships (1 Viewer)

Tyrone

Local time
Yesterday, 22:28
I am a newbie to Access. I am trying to build a database for my personal use. I have downloaded a large xml file from a trusted site. There were 9 Tables from that xml file. Next, I try to create a relationship with these 9 tables and I have notice that these 9 tables don't have any Primary Keys and 5 of these tables have matching Fields. The other 4 tables without any matching fields has important data which I'll need for the queries. Could someone please tell me what should be done in order for this database to performance properly.

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
Yesterday, 19:28
Since we can't see anything on your computer, it's really hard to guess what those 9 tables are and what the fields in them might be.

On the other hand, if you were to provide that kind of information, we could probably apply our experience to helping you clean up and use them..

One way to do that is upload a copy of what you have. Another, less useful, would be screenshots of the tables in design view.

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
Oh, and a description of what "personal use" you plan for this database application? Tracking socks in a sock drawer, or books in a library? Income and Expenses? Field trips? Gosh, I can think of lots of potential things for a relational database application.

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
I agree with George's comments. You may have 9 tables, but what is the subject of your proposed database? What do those tables represent? What are the major processes/activities of "your personal database"? How do these 9 tables relate to those processes/activities?
If you could provide a plain English description of your "proposed system", independent of the tables you have downloaded, that may get you more focused advice more quickly.