Solved Report Footer Static Text From Table (1 Viewer)

LGDGlen

Member
Local time
Today, 22:52
Joined
Jun 29, 2021
Messages
153
Hi All

I have multiple reports that are generated which i want to have the same text appearing at the bottom of each page in the footer. This text, though, is dependent on the report data as in, if the data is UK based data then the text will show our UK office details and terms, if its European data then it will show our EU office details and terms.

Further to this we might, on occasion, modify the terms as we grow.

What i would like is to have a table that has multiple lines of report static data with a UK and an EU field so that it can be displayed as required.

I'm just not sure how i should design the table and in turn use it on a report.

Also not sure whether this is a good idea or not, i thought it would be easier if the text is the same on each report then having it statically stored in a table would allow only 1 version of the data be stored and will allow ALL reports to be updated easily.

hope this makes sense as a goal and any pointers on how best to achieve this would be. Currently i'm capturing which report style the user wants in: TempVars!strReportToUse at the moment but again i'm completely open to better ways of doing things

Thanks in advance

Glen
 

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:52
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
3,716
A table with the static info joined to data table is reasonable.

IDLocalityInfo
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:52
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
14,607
you can have a table like:

tblNotice(table)
Locale (short text)
Terms (Long text)

locale-------------------------Terms
US-----------------------------(the terms in us)
UK-----------------------------(the terms in UK)

you add 2 unbound textbox to your report and dlookup() each
for UK and US.

add conditional format to only "show" one term.
 

LGDGlen

Member
Local time
Today, 22:52
Joined
Jun 29, 2021
Messages
153
right ok, so a DLookup is the way to go i see now, i was over thinking things and confusing myself, thank you, i've got the idea now and can run with it, if i run into an issue i'll add to this thread if not and i get it working i'll mark as "answered"
 

LGDGlen

Member
Local time
Today, 22:52
Joined
Jun 29, 2021
Messages
153
ok so dlookup and conditional formatting is working ..... to a degree.......

1633512657059.png


So above is what i have so far, which works, but the reports either have a blank space underneath or above where the text is white'd out.

If i overlay the lines then i just get a blank space in the footer, so i'm not sure how to get rid of the white space thats not required.

My conditional formatting is:

1633512869851.png


So for one of the EU lines it sets the text colour to white

I may have misunderstood what the suggestion was with the conditional formatting so happy to be corrected
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 06:52
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
14,607
change each textbox Background to Transparent then overlay it (copy and paste
the Top property of one textbox (either US/UK) and paste it to the other.
do the same to the 2 textboxes.
 

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 13:52
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
3,716
Have one set of textboxes:

=DLookup("line_" & TempVars!strReportToUse & "_text", "[DIM-ReportStaticText]", "line_name='Footer_Line1'")

Strongly advise not to use punctuation/special characters (underscore is only exception) in naming convention.
 
Last edited:

LGDGlen

Member
Local time
Today, 22:52
Joined
Jun 29, 2021
Messages
153
ok so this kind of works, the issue is:

UK:
1633515425860.png

EU:
1633515446219.png
 

Attachments

  • 1633514433153.png
    1633514433153.png
    65.6 KB · Views: 31
  • 1633514462953.png
    1633514462953.png
    56.4 KB · Views: 32

LGDGlen

Member
Local time
Today, 22:52
Joined
Jun 29, 2021
Messages
153
@June7 perfection, thank you, your suggestion worked.

Thank you all for your help as always all your suggestions got me to where i needed to be overall, thank you
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom