Solved Security Warning for Web browser control (1 Viewer)

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
In a form that shows a lot of detailed data about manufacturing parts, I've added a browser control to show the part in 3D view.
It helps the operators to see what the end product will be, instead of 2D PDF drawings.

I have the 3D files in html format.
Both Edge and chrome show the contents when I double click 3D files.

This is a sample file in Edge :

2022-06-01_10-08-35.png


On current event of the form contains :

SW3D.ControlSource = "=""Y:\3D\TL13001BB101.html"""

When I open the form I receive this error:


2022-06-01_10-27-18.png

No matter which button I choose, the error message closes and the gear inside the web browser continues spinning. Just like an hour glass.
and the page is never shown.

Is there anything I can try?

Thanks for your help.
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:21
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,810
can you share a sample .html file?
for me to test.
 

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
can you share a sample .html file?
for me to test.
Sorry for the delay. I had to check if I'm allowed to share our documents on a public forum.
Check the attachment.

I really appreciate your help.
 

Attachments

  • TL13001BB101.zip
    3.5 MB · Views: 89

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:21
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,810
i have the same issue. it just doesn't display in webbrowser control.
also using "Live html editor" (Edge extension), i put the html and run it.
same thing only the Title and busy icon is showing.
 

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
Thanks for your effort.

I did some research. It seems that Internet Explorer version 10 and above is necessary for 3D objects.
Is there any way to check the version of web browser control in Access?
 

isladogs

CID VIP
Local time
Today, 19:21
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
16,388
You can use a registry setting to force the Web browser control to emulate IE11 or Edge.
See section 5 of my article

Using Feature Browser Emulation, your file loaded without error for me though it took ages as its a large file

Capture.PNG
 
Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:21
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,810
i added this to the .html file.
but it is too slow to load (you'll need patience).
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=11" />
    <style>
tl.png
 

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
though it took ages as its a large file
Double clicking the file opens it in default browser instantly.
I don't think the file size matters. Perhaps something special in Access web browser control.

Thanks anyway.
You solved the problem (again).
 

isladogs

CID VIP
Local time
Today, 19:21
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
16,388
Size is an issue with the loading time of any html file
I have a slow internet connection and your 10MB file takes a few seconds to load if opened directly in a browser.
However, it is definitely MUCH slower in an Access web browser control whether using the standard control or the ActiveX version
Personally, I'd say its unusable unless you can drastically reduce the file size.
 

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
I have a slow internet connection and your 10MB file takes a few seconds to load if opened directly in a browser.
1- Why internet connection speed matters? The files are stand alone and don't need the internet connection. You can turn off your wifi or pull out the LAN cable and still open them in your browser. Everything is embedded inside the html file. You can also use all the tools you have at the left or top of page.
2- Do you have a GPU?
Me, with a NVidia P2000, Xeon W-2133 & 16GB memory, they open in less than a second.

Personally, I'd say its unusable unless you can drastically reduce the file size.
Those in charge in shop floor didn't accept this method. For them it's too much waiting for a simple task. They asked me to change how I tried to do it. For now, I added a button and used a shell.execute to open the files in default browser (instead of form's web browser control). They can't see the product side by side it's data, but they're happy with it

Again thanks for your efforts to help.
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:21
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,810
just use pdf/image with all isometric view. that will be faster.
 

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
I'm working on it, But 3D PDF files have a lot of limitation comparing to original 3D CAD files.

Thanks for the suggestion though.
If I had any problem with them, I know whom I have to ask ;)
 

isladogs

CID VIP
Local time
Today, 19:21
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
16,388
My last answer was badly worded. Obviously internet speed was irrelevant for your local file.
I meant that any html page will load slowly if the file size is large. Typically where it contains large image files.
That is true whether its local or otherwise
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 02:21
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
16,810
can you open the drawing "outside", like use Application.FollowHyperlink
 

KitaYama

Active member
Local time
Tomorrow, 03:21
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
537
At present, I have a button to open the drawings, but am using shell.execute.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom