The history of programming constructs (1 Viewer)

vba_php

Forum Troll
Local time
Today, 16:43
Does anyone have any knowledge of this stuff? Since I'm only 39, I only know so much. But it would be nice to hear from the older people here that know where this stuff came from. I recently responded to a post made by a facebook group I'm part of called Self-taught programmers. This is what they mentioned:

maybe I should choose a better term than "construct". If we start throwing that term around, we might end up feeling like we're part of the Matrix with Neo and Trinity!

Attachments

• the_history_of_for_loops.jpg
    the_history_of_for_loops.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 253

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
DO loops and FOR loops as we know them today originated with the advent of 3rd generation languages* right after WW II and the Korean War. FORTRAN used the DO construct whereas ALGOL used the FOR construct. However, the looping concept LONG precedes those languages. Here is a reference that contains some interesting quotes.

There are some historical references in this thread:

* - for those who have forgotten or never knew:
1st generation languages = direct programming of machine code in binary. Programming by front-panel switches or hard wired actions. The machine that broke the German ENIGMA code was hard-wired.

2nd generation languages = now called Assembly Language code. Assigning names to variables but using the names of specific machine instructions to manage one step at a time.

3rd generation = procedure-oriented languages such as but not limited to FORTRAN, ALGOL, COBOL, and their successors. There are multitudes of these at various levels from original C (damned close to an assembler) all the way up to APL (which is the most obscure mathematically oriented procedural language I have ever seen.)

4th generation languages = try to adapt natural speech to programming. Among modern languages, SQL is sometimes considered a 4GL.