Trouble with structuring Categories and Sub Categories (1 Viewer)

AJR

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 21:41
Hi

I am a Newb who has almost completed my first Database. I have just one problem to solve that seems to be far more complicated (and taken far more time) than it should. As it is very complicated to explain the problem in the actual database (I tried and no one answered) and because I am beginning to suspect that the real problem is that I have structured my tables wrong from the start; I thought it would be a good idea to go right to the start and use a simple, hypothetical question, that would replicate what I am trying to accomplish.

So, Suppose I receive boxes and store them in a room. Each box can contain items that are either shaped as cubes or spheres and I have to allow for the addition of more shapes in the future, but only one shape can be in each box. Each box contains a random number of shapes and two boxes may, or may not, contain the same number of shapes as another. Cubes can be either Red or Green, Spheres can be either Blue or Yellow.

I wish to set, and have the ability to change, how many cubes and how many spheres, on a percentage basis, I wish to have (e.g., 60% Cubes and 40% spheres).

I also wish to set, and have the ability to change, what percentage of cubes I want to be Red and Green and which percentage of Spheres I wish to be Blue and Yellow (e.g., Cubes -Red 70%, Yellow 30% )

As I receive each box I, Count how many shapes it contains, note if they are Cubes or Spheres and count how many of each color there are.

e.g. -- I have several boxes totaling:

Cubes
Red 30
Green 40

Spheres
Blue 10
Yellow 20

My goal is to produce three reports.