Using Exit Sub (1 Viewer)

DNewman

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:40
I am a self-taught Access VBA person.
Sometimes I find the 'need' to exit a subroutine from within a control 'loop' e.g. if.. then..else with... while... et al.

I suspect this is 'bad form' but is there any 'cost' in doing this?

There presumably will be if objects have been set and are not reset to Nothing. In this case it presumably is not a problem resetting to Nothing outside a With.. - what about inside a with..??

Kevin320

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:40
As you indicate, some may consider this 'bad form', and if they do, I'd be curious to hear about it. I do this all the time. When I do, I simply try to ensure I close any open recordsets, set things to nothing, and set warnings back to true. Again, I'm curious to see if anyone has reasons to indicate this is bad form and something to avoid. If so, I hope there are suggested alternatives.

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 08:40
I typically use error handling so instead of Exit Sub I'd have GoTo ExitHandler. All of the clean up stuff would be there, so it always gets done. An example if necessary:

http://www.baldyweb.com/ErrorTrap.htm

MarkK

bit cruncher
Local time
There are other arguments, but typically, Exit Sub is not required. Have you seen code like this?
Code:
If Something Then
   Do Something
   Exit sub
ElseIf SomethingElse Then
   Do SomethingElse
   Exit Sub
End If
Here's code that does the same thing
Code:
If Something Then
   Do Something
ElseIf SomethingElse Then
   Do SomethingElse
End If
Exit sub, how it is most commonly used, is not required, and anything that is not required, in code, should be omitted.

Kevin320

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:40
MarkK,