Question Who is using my database on the Network (1 Viewer)

khodr

Experts still Learn
Local time
Today, 02:55
Hi,
I am new to this forum, I am an access database developer, am not that high level expert but I can do enough to let it work, My question is, I need to know who is using my database, Kick users, and restrict another from using, I have an access database which is running on the Network and I used access 2010 to build it up, any help will be appreciated.
regards.
khodr.:)

khodr

Experts still Learn
Local time
Yes Sure,
I have a main application form (the Parent form) it will launch within the application loading and then every user has to enter his name and password, and I already made a Level for users, to direct them to user panel as per their user level.
I will go through the link which you provided me thanks a lot mate.
;) regards.
khodr.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 18:55
The basic concept is simple, using the "Old Programmer's Rules"

Access can't tell you anything you didn't tell it first. If you want to know who is in, you have to have a login mechanism AND a logout mechanism and a LOGIN table. When someone logs in, make a date/time entry, a username entry, whatever else you might want to know later. Then scrupulously trap every form so that when it closes (OnClose event), you update the table in question to show that the user logged out.

If your user account table has a flag that says "go away and don't come back" then your login process, if tight enough, can do a DoCmd.Quit on unwanted users.