Solved X and Y Coordinates (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 00:55
Hi forumers,

I have a modified drag and drop planner we use at work that places new activities on the screen with an X and Y coordinate to place it when added.

I am trying to figure out how to work out the next X and Y values based on the last values in the table.

X starts at 10 and increases 3 more times in 20s then increases by 150
Y starts at 25 and increases 3 more times in 15s then resets back to 10

XY

So the next X and Y would be 430 | 25. Does anyone have an idea on how I could make this work so when a new job is added to the planner, it allocated the correct X and Y?

Something like

IIf LastOfY = 70 then X = LastOfX + 150 And Y = 25 else Y = LastOfY +20 And X = LastOfX +15?

I have never written anything like this so not sure of the correct VBA or layout.

Once the jobs are moved onto the calendar part, the X and Y coordinates for that job become 0 | 0 and all the others are moved to a new correct position, but the planner already does this. I am only looking for new jobs added.

I really hope I have made something close to sense here.

~Matt

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 18:55
This gets a little complex. I can't show you code because of the NDA I was under. I don't own the code so can only describe it, not show it.

You have this problem: You want to allocate something to a work area. What you want to allocate will occupy a rectangle, so you might as well just allocate a rectangle. But here is the other side of this. You are allocating these rectangles to fill another area which is ALSO a rectangle. The trick is to then keep track of where you are.