Subform Selection Slow (1 Viewer)

gunslingor

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:53
Hey guys, this is a problem I've been facing for many years and its really slowing down my development in this instance. I'm wondering if anyone else has or "has never" had this problem and what work arounds they know of.

The problem is simple, create a form, plop a subform in it... all works fine as expected, except anytime you select the subform, it takes 1-5 minutes for access to start responding again. If you then select something on the subform, as opposed to the main forms subform control previously noted, it takes another 1-5 minutes. Once the internals of the subform control are selected, you can move around within the subform and modify it as usual quite well... but then when you go back to the parent form, it takes another 1-5 minutes to catch up.

Why is this even happening? What is wrong with MS and there implementation.. this is really really slowing down my developement. There was another DB designed by someone else that I was assigned to modify... this one had like 3-4 layers of subforms... i.e. 20 minutes to navigate to the lowest subform and 20 minutes to navigate back out. Why the hell is this happening! How do I fix? :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:

pr2-eugin

Super Moderator
Local time
Today, 23:53
Are you talking about form in design mode? If the answer is Yes, my answer is Yes too.. I have found this behavior in Main Form SubForm scenario in Design mode..

As you know a SubForm acts a Control on the main form, but the SubForm is a Form by itself with their own controls.. So to stop me throwing my keyboard when doing this.. I normally open the (sub)form in question and edit it there.. rather than opening the Main form with all the subforms in it..

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
There are four basic things to do:

1. Ensure one or more of the forms are not slightly corrupted. Try: