Access error -query is corrupt (1 Viewer)

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169
UPDATE:
The first fix has been rolled out.

This is a quote taken from MSDN forums today:
Either now or shortly, you can now download the update for O365 Monthly Channel/2016 C2R.

Likewise, for the MSI installs and other versions, for example:

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4484119/security-update-for-office-2013-november-12-2019

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4484198/november-18-2019-update-for-office-2016-kb4484198

You should be able to receive them via Windows Update.

Gustav Brock
The first link is the security update that caused the issue. The second is the supposed fix though I haven't tested it as I don't have 2016 MSI.
 

NauticalGent

CopyPaster of the First Order
Local time
Today, 15:25
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
2,852
Col,

Your efforts regarding this issue for this forum are stellar and MUCH appreciated. I was able to head this off before it became a problem.

Cant thank you enough...if I had an address, I could send Luke's Chianti to you instead!
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169

Attachments

pbaldy

Wino Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Aug 30, 2003
Messages
34,054
The page has been updated for

Access for Office 365 Monthly Channel/Access 2016 C2R/Access 2019 (Version 1910)

Use File/Account/
UpdateOptions/UpdateNow
within an Office application
 

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
13,892
btw, for us old timers, A2003 was not affected at all!

Although A2003 databases "running" in later versions were affected.
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169
Whilst that's great news in the current situation, I believe its also true that A2003 is no longer receiving any security updates as its beyond 'EOL'. It is of course still one of the best versions of Access (along with 2010 in my opinion)

I'm still hearing mixed messages regarding the corrupt query bug and A2007. MS don't list it as being affected but there have been several reports on MSDN forums from users who say they were hit by this bug.
 

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
13,892

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169
At the moment, I am still on the Office Insider program.
I may well withdraw from that after this debacle.

Anyway I have applied the fix and am now on Version 1912 build 12312.20002 C2R.

Still waiting for the 2010 fix but I uninstalled the original bugged update
 

Cliff67

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
110
Guess what!! I've just had the same problem a query that ran yesterday now has an error and it is corrupt, I'm going to look if the update has been done

Wow Microsoft tested this update well
 

Cliff67

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
110
isladog - I couldn't find the problematic update however I did you quick work around since it was only 1 query and build an new query of the original table then ran the update query on that query. It now does not throw the error.

Many thanks for your hard work researching this problem - Reputation and thanks given
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
11,488
I've just had the Error.

Thanks for this post Colin! - I've used this fix and it works fine..

This was the Fix:-
Code:
UPDATE (SELECT * FROM tblBooking) SET Status = 513
WHERE (((BookingId)=1686));
Using:-
Microsoft Access 2016 MSO (16.0.120130.20334)64-bit
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
10,123
The attached is what I decided to use to handle this problem. I know it doesn't handle all scenarios, such as databases with Make-Table queries, but I will try to add that functionality later. I decided to share it now in hopes it might be helpful to others as well (especially those still on Access 2010).

Please let me know if you find any issues with this utility.

Thank you!
 

Attachments

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169
Thanks for that DBG. I tried it & it worked.
It seems to be very closely related to the fix by LauXjpn that I posted earlier - see post #17

I just realised that Office 365 update had reinstalled the faulty update after I applied the fix :banghead::banghead::banghead:
So I'm now reverting to version 1910 (Build 12130.20272) and starting the updates again!

EDIT:
OK - back up to date Version 1912 (Insider) Build 12231.20000 - bug fixed AGAIN...!
I'm going to leave updates on again and monitor it for a few days in case it reverts again!
 
Last edited:

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Local time
Today, 06:25
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
10,123
Thanks for that DBG. I tried it & it worked.
It seems to be very closely related to the fix by LauXjpn that I posted earlier - see post #17

I just realised that Office 365 update had reinstalled the faulty update after I applied the fix :banghead::banghead::banghead:
So I'm now reverting to version 1910 and starting the updates again!
Hi Colin. Thanks for testing it out. Yes, it is the same approach as you mentioned earlier, but I was already working on this idea before then.

Incidentally, I just finished updating it to v1.5 to include fixes for any Make-Table queries that could replace the tables again after this utility fixed it.

Also, in case it's not obvious (I don't think it is), this utility is a fix and unfix tool. So, when the problem is finally fixed by MS, one simply runs the utility again to go back to the original setup. (For additional safety, a backup copy is also created each time the utility is used.)

Cheers!


Edit: Hold the press, please! I found a small glitch, so I'll have to fix it first. Stand by... (I removed the attachment)


Edit: Okay, sorry about that. I think it's fixed now...
 

Attachments

Last edited:

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169
Just to say that MS have again updated their corrupt query Web page.
Unfortunately, the changes are not good news.
For example, fixes for A2010 & A2013 have been put back by a week to 29 Nov
 

MickJav

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
1,815
Just to say that MS have again updated their corrupt query Web page.
Unfortunately, the changes are not good news.
For example, fixes for A2010 & A2013 have been put back by a week to 29 Nov

Thanks for the info I've had to update 3 projects with this error plus my Employee Example has the problem but most users are developers who should be able to fix it with the info you provided.
 

isladogs

CID Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 14:25
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
13,169
If you have Office 365 and previously removed the version with the bug, beware when you update.
I ran the update to install the fix. All fine.
The next day I found the bug was back so the 12 Nov update must have subsequently been reinstalled.
As a check I repeated the update. Again fixed. I ran the update again. Bug returned for a second time.
I've fixed it for a third time and switched off updates again!

FWIW I was an Office insider (but no longer) and have version 1912 build 12231.20000
 
Last edited:

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom