Creating a M-M relationship using a different M-M join table (1 Viewer)

mergle

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 19:54
Hello,
I haven't designed a database in many years and struggling with different scenarios for days with what seems should be easy to see, but not sure if I am able to. I now feel that I know enough to be dangerous.

The database is for a home exterior cladding subcontractor that performs work for homebuilders in various communities/subdivisions. I am just starting out on this and currently trying to create a purchase order process for buying various products/materials from different Vendors, which all have different prices for the same common materials they offer.

The way I see it, there is a M-M between tblVendor and tblMaterial (join table includes the MaterialCost for each VendorMaterialID item). Then there is a M-M between tblPurchaseOrder and what I think should be the tblVendorMaterial join table.

I will have a main form collect the BuilderID and CommunityID info to create a JobID. A subform will collect the VendorID, then a sub-subform will collect the various VendorMaterialID items with Quantity needed in a datasheet format.

I am wondering if it looks like I am on the right path with my table relationships, especially with using the tblVendorMaterial join table with tblPurchaseOrder to create the tblPOVendorMaterial join.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Relationship_1.JPG

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 16:54
Hi. I think you can remove the VendorID from tblPurchaseOrders, because you can derive that information from tblPOVendorMaterial.

mergle

Registered User.
Local time
OK, however I want the VendorMaterialID items to be a datasheet subform to show only vendor-specific material pricing for a given material item selected based on the VendorID that's selected on the purchase order main form. So, wouldnt I need the VendorID at the main form level to show these in the subform?