Greetings everyone! (1 Viewer)

mcomp72

Local time
Today, 01:49
Hi all! Just thought I'd introduce myself. My name is Matt and I live in Los Angeles. I've been developing in Excel for a few years now, so I know VBA in Excel pretty well. (I created a budgeting file that is used for projects such as TV commercials.)

I attempted to make a database with Access a few years ago, and found that I couldn't figure it all out. I did get something working enough for it to be useful, but I never quite understood everything well enough to eliminate certain errors from sometimes happening. It was my first experience with creating a database, and I think I may not have grasped some of the more advanced concepts well enough.

A few days ago I decided to try creating a new database; this one for my Dad, to keep track of golf scores and money collected for a senior amateur group he is a part of. I had created an Excel system for him, and it works okay, but it really would be better if it was a database system. So... I'm trying to create the same kind of system in Access.

I have started the database, and have some of it working okay, but I've run into some things that I can't yet figure out. I always start with Googling about the issue, then read forum posts here and at other sites, and some of the times I'm able to find solutions. But sometimes I'm not. So I'll post here anytime I can't figure it out.

Other than that, I'm a fan of visual entertainment, so I watch movies & TV a lot, and go see plays occasionally. The other thing I like to do is code. The only language I know is VBA, so my coding knowledge is very limited, but I enjoy the challenge of trying to figure out how to get the computer to do what I want it to do.

Jon

Access World Site Owner
Staff member
Local time
Today, 09:49