Question about tables (1 Viewer)

Scolton

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:56
Hello,
I wil introduce myself i am a dutch student. At the moment i am working on a database but i ran into a problem that i can't get my head around.
Lets say i have 3 tables
Table 1 : Has students in it
Table 2 : Has their groups
Table 3 : Has their classes they follow.

Now i want i want to create a query. Which connects a student with a group and then shows me all the classes he has to attend to.
So lets say i have a search form (which i created) i search for the student (i can get this far) then i want it to show me the groups he/she is in and to show me the classes he/she follows per group.

Thanks in advance and sorry for my bad english:rolleyes:

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:56
you need to learn about relationships - here is a link to get you started

http://code.tutsplus.com/articles/sql-for-beginners-part-3-database-relationships--net-8561

so to answer
Which connects a student with a group and then shows me all the classes he has to attend to
you need to decide if a student can only belong to one group, or whether they can belong to many groups. Which way you go will dictate what tables you require, what they need to contain as a minimum and how they link together.

Similarly, the relationship between groups and classes - is a class unique to one group, or can it apply to more than one group?

Answer these questions and reading up on relationships should show you the way forward, but if not, provide the details from your tables and we can take it forward

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 04:56
the classes he/she follows per group.

English was great, so nothing to apologize for. However the relationship you described between groups and classes is confusing. If you could post your relationship between those 3 tables it would help.