Solved Stock Transaction Table Advice (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 00:57
Hi all,

I am looking at reworking my MRP database to manage the stock numbers better. At the moment I have a TransactionType field which denotes the transaction type to either In or Out. The TransactionQuantity field is currently always a positive number. I have seen on other DBs that they have this field as a negative number with the Type is Out. I currently have a query to work out QuantityInStock and it needs to use the In/Out value to add or subtract the quantities to get the value.

Would my query be more efficient if the TransactionQuantity already had a minus number when it is an Out transaction? Would I then just need to run a Sum on this field to get my QIS?

~Matt

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Yes.
When I was making a payment, I still entered a positive number, and the form made it negative if payment type.
Your issue appears to be the same?

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 18:57
Depends on lots of factors, but since this kind of work will usually be done by a summation query anyway, you might consider leaving quantity as always positive.

Then when you do your "sum of transactions" query to show current stock balance, you would include

Code:
SELECT StockID, ...., SUM( IIF( XActType='IN', XActQty, -XActQty) ) AS SumOfCorrectedQty, ....

Now if you had more than just in/out transactions (i.e. transactions could be "ShipmentIn", "SalesOut", ShrinkageAdjust", "ReturnToStock", "SightInventory", etc.) then you might want a table to supply the "correction constant" of +1 or -1 as appropriate to the direction of the transfer, and in that case would involve a JOIN with the correction constant table, whatever it is. When you have only two choices, the IIF will do the job. If / when it grows more complex, consider the JOIN.

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time